Book a consultation

Events & offers

×

Compared 22 September 2026

CambriLearn compared with Think Digital Academy

Both schools teach the British International curriculum and CAPS online, and both register CAPS learners with SACAI. The teaching model is where they part company.

Think Digital teaches through pre-recorded lessons. CambriLearn teaches live, timetabled lessons with qualified subject teachers and keeps the recordings. Everything on this page is a figure the two schools publish themselves, checked on 22 September 2026.

At a glance

Lessons
Live and timetabledThink Digital publishes pre-recorded lessons and no live class timetable
Cambridge pathway
Runs through to A LevelThink Digital stops at AS Level
Curriculum pathways
Six across five curriculaThink Digital publishes three
Teaching since
2008Think Digital was founded in 2016

The short version

What separates the two schools

Three differences do most of the work. Everything further down this page is detail underneath them.

One

Recorded against live

Think Digital's own description of its service is that “All our lessons have been recorded and taught by subject matter experts… These lessons can be accessed from anywhere at any time.” Its paid upgrade adds online tutors reachable on weekdays between 08:00 and 16:30 by text, image and video.

Its own FAQ sets the limit on that upgrade: it “does not include face-to-face tutoring and is not a solution for students struggling with content comprehension or mastering concepts.”

CambriLearn runs 45-minute live video lessons with qualified subject-specialist teachers, with the recording available afterwards.

Two

How far each pathway runs

CambriLearn teaches six pathways across five curricula: CAPS, KABV, the International British curriculum, Pearson Edexcel, the IEB and US K–12.

Think Digital publishes three: CAPS, British International and the United States GED.

On the Cambridge route it stops at AS Level, and it says so itself: a post on its own site notes that Think Digital Academy “currently offers IGCSE and AS Levels, but not A Levels”.

Three

Track record

CambriLearn began teaching in 2008 and publishes more than 80,000 students educated, more than 16,000 matriculated or graduated, and families in more than 100 countries.

Think Digital was founded in 2016. Its about page describes “tens of thousands of learners” without putting a figure to it, and the last country count it published was “more than 20 countries”, in January 2023. It publishes no matriculant number and no pass rate.

Where the offering differs

Nine things CambriLearn provides that Think Digital does not publish

Each item below was checked against what Think Digital Academy publishes on thinkdigitalacademy.org on 22 September 2026. Where it publishes nothing on a point, that is what we have said, rather than assuming the answer is no.

See CambriLearn's accreditation detail
  1. Live timetabled lessons

    Qualified subject teachers running 45-minute live video lessons on a weekly timetable, with the recording available afterwards, teacher-marked assignments returned within eight working days, and academic support consultants who follow up when progress slips.

    Think Digital publishes pre-recorded lessons, printable notes, memos for self-marking and term assessments. No live class timetable appears anywhere on its site.

  2. A Level

    The Cambridge pathway runs through to A Level, in Biology, Business, Chemistry, Economics, English Language, Mathematics and Physics. Pearson Edexcel International A Levels sit alongside it.

    Think Digital's 2027 fee table, its British curriculum pages and its sitemap all end at AS Level, and a post on its own site states that it “currently offers IGCSE and AS Levels, but not A Levels”. A learner finishing AS there has to move school to complete the qualification.

  3. A third year of lower secondary

    Foundation I and Foundation II cover the three lower secondary years, ages 12 to 15, before International GCSE.

    Think Digital's Lower Secondary programme covers “Stages 7 and 8”. There is no Stage 9 page and no Stage 9 tuition line, which matters for a learner moving across from CAPS Grade 9.

  4. The IEB

    A standalone IEB pathway, with Grade 10 and Grade 11 enrolling for 2027 and Grade 12 opening in 2028 as the first cohort moves up. CambriLearn is registered with the Independent Examinations Board.

    Think Digital publishes no IEB pathway and claims no IEB registration.

  5. Pearson Edexcel

    International GCSE, AS and International A Level on the Edexcel route, and CambriLearn is an approved Pearson Edexcel examination centre, authorised to enter and host candidates.

    Think Digital publishes no Pearson Edexcel pathway and claims no Pearson accreditation. Its British curriculum pages name no awarding body at all.

  6. A United States high school diploma

    A full US K–12 pathway through Score Academy Online, leading to an American high school diploma, with NCAA-approved courses for learners heading to US college sport.

    Think Digital offers the GED, which is a high school equivalency credential rather than a K–12 diploma programme, and its published status is “Test Preparation partner” with the GED Testing Service rather than a testing centre.

  7. CAPS in Afrikaans

    The KABV pathway teaches CAPS in Afrikaans through to the Nasionale Senior Sertifikaat, with Grade 12 opening in 2027.

    Think Digital publishes CAPS in English.

  8. Cognia accreditation and NCAA approval

    CambriLearn is accredited by Cognia, the largest school accrediting body internationally, and its courses are NCAA approved for Division I and II eligibility.

    Think Digital's accreditation page names two bodies: SACAI, and the GED Testing Service. It claims neither Cognia accreditation nor NCAA approval, and its British International curriculum sits on that page with no accrediting body stated against it.

  9. Examination entry handled by the school

    CambriLearn is an approved Pearson Edexcel examination centre, and CAPS and IEB Grade 12 entries and fees are handled with SACAI and the IEB on the student's behalf.

    Think Digital's British curriculum FAQ tells families to “locate your nearest British International Curriculum accredited examination centre” and to “register your student directly with them”. Finding the centre and entering for papers is the family's job.

Side by side

Every measure that differs

Where a row reads “Not published”, it means Think Digital Academy does not state that credential or figure on its own site. It does not mean the school has been asked and said no.

Measure CambriLearn Think Digital Academy
Teaching since20082016
Students educatedMore than 80,000“Tens of thousands”, no figure published
Matriculated and graduatedMore than 16,000Not published
Countries servedMore than 100More than 20, published January 2023
Ages served4 to 19Grade R to Grade 12
Curriculum pathwaysSix across five curriculaThree: CAPS, British International, US GED
LessonsLive timetabled lessons with qualified subject teachers, plus the recordingsPre-recorded lessons, accessible any time
Teacher accessDirect teacher chat by text, voice or video on Premium, same-day replies in business hoursOnline tutors weekdays 08:00 to 16:30, 15-minute response, by text, image and video
Assignment markingTeacher-marked with written feedback, returned within eight working daysMemos published for self-marking, plus term assessments with instant feedback
CAPSEnglish, and Afrikaans through KABVEnglish
IEBStandalone pathway, Grade 10 and Grade 11 for 2027Not offered
International BritishInternational GCSE, AS and A LevelInternational GCSE and AS Level
Lower secondary yearsThree, Foundation I and II across ages 12 to 15Two, Stages 7 and 8
Pearson EdexcelInternational GCSE, AS and International A LevelNot offered
United States pathwayK–12 diploma through Score Academy OnlineGED, a high school equivalency credential
Registered with SACAIYesYes
Registered with the IEBYesNot published
Accredited by Pearson EdexcelYesNot published
Accredited by CogniaYesNot published
NCAA approvedYesNot published
Examination entryApproved Pearson Edexcel examination centre; CAPS and IEB Grade 12 entries made on the student's behalfFamilies locate their own examination centre and register with it
Public review sitesFour: Google, HelloPeter, Trustpilot and FacebookThree: Google, HelloPeter and Facebook

Sources: thinkdigitalacademy.org and cambrilearn.com as published on 22 September 2026. Think Digital's founding year is from its own about page and its launch media release of 25 November 2016. The “tens of thousands of learners” phrase is from its about page, and the country count is from its media release of 13 January 2023. Both schools revise their offering each year, so confirm current detail with each school before enrolling.

2027 fees

What each fee buys

The two schools price in different currencies and in different units, so converting one into the other would produce a number neither school charges. Both are set out below as each publishes them.

CambriLearn

Priced per subject, in US dollars

The International British, Pearson Edexcel and US K–12 curricula are charged in US dollars. CAPS, KABV and IEB are charged in rand. Tiers can be mixed across subjects, so a learner can take Premium in Mathematics and Standard elsewhere.

Registration
$95Once off, non-refundable
Lower secondary, Foundation I and II
From $440Per subject, per year
International GCSE
From $565Per subject, per year
AS Level and A Level
From $605Per subject, per year
What the higher tier adds
PremiumDirect teacher chat, live question and answer sessions, and marked mock examinations at International GCSE, AS and A Level
Payment
Ten instalments or upfrontUpfront costs about 15% less on tuition

Think Digital Academy

Priced per level or per year, in rand

Its 2027 fee page sells two tiers, and the only difference between them is access to online tutors. Primary and lower secondary are priced per year; GCSE and AS are priced per level.

Registration
R500Quoted for all three curricula
Lower secondary, Stages 7 and 8
R14,450 to R16,000Per year
GCSE
R19,100 to R20,650Per level
AS Level
R19,100 to R20,650Per level. A Level is not offered
What the higher tier adds
Online tutor supportWeekdays 08:00 to 16:30, 15-minute response, by text, image and video
Payment
Three or six instalments5% discount when paid in full, and 5% per child from three children
Read the fee next to the service

Think Digital's published fee table does not state how many subjects a level price covers. Its FAQ states that GCSE learners take six subjects and AS learners five, and it prices additional subjects separately at R3,800 to R4,200 each at those levels. Its GCSE and AS examination fees are listed separately at roughly R3,000 to R4,500 per subject, payable when examination seating is booked.

CambriLearn charges per subject, so the total moves with the subject load. As a worked example on the UK site, six International GCSE subjects on the Standard package come to £2,508.60 for the year, or £296.04 a month over ten instalments. External examination fees are excluded at both schools, as are textbooks and devices.

The gap in the headline numbers tracks the gap in what is being sold. One fee buys a recorded library, printable notes, memos for self-marking and weekday text tutoring. The other buys live timetabled classes with qualified subject teachers, marked work returned with written feedback, and academic support that comes to you. Get a CambriLearn quote for the same subject load before comparing anything.

All Think Digital figures are from the “2027 Annual fees” table on thinkdigitalacademy.org, read on 22 September 2026. CambriLearn 2027 enrolments taken between 17 August and 30 November 2026 are held at 2026 pricing under the current fee lock. Think Digital's figures are list prices; it is running an early-bird discount of 20% on full payments and 15% on payment plans from 1 to 30 September 2026. Because CambriLearn prices the British curriculum in US dollars and Think Digital prices in rand, any rand-for-rand comparison depends on the exchange rate on the day you pay.

Subject choice

Subjects on the British curriculum

Every subject each school publishes on its own curriculum pages, level by level. A subject missing from a school's site is a subject your child cannot take there.

Lower secondary CambriLearnFoundation I and II, ages 12 to 15 Think DigitalStages 7 and 8
Years coveredThree, ages 12 to 15Two, Stages 7 and 8
First year subjectsFoundation I, seven: Afrikaans, Computers, English, French, Mathematics, Science, SpanishStage 7, five: English First Language, Afrikaans Second Language, Mathematics, Sciences, Humanities
What the next year addsFoundation II adds EMS, History, Introduction to Commerce and Python Coding for Teens, for eleven in totalStage 8 is the final lower secondary year before GCSE
Languages offeredAfrikaans, English, French, SpanishEnglish, Afrikaans

Think Digital's Lower Secondary landing page names no subjects. It refers to “subjects such as English, mathematics, and science” and publishes no age range for the stage. The subject list sits a level down, on the Stage 7 page.

The practical issue is the missing third year. There is no Stage 9 page and no Stage 9 tuition line, so a learner moving across from CAPS Grade 9, or from another school's Year 9, has no matching year to enter.

Subject lists are taken from each school's own curriculum and level pages on 22 September 2026. Think Digital's GCSE and AS subject requirements are from its own FAQ. Schools add and retire subjects between intakes, so confirm the subject is running for the year your child is entering.

What families say

CambriLearn reviews on four public sites

Every rating below sits on a site we do not own and cannot edit. Each card carries the review count behind the score and a link to the live listing rather than a screenshot.

Google

4.7 / 5

152 reviews

Across our South African, UK and UAE listings

Read on Google

HelloPeter

4.9 / 5

135 reviews

Score covers a rolling 12 months; 189 reviews all time

Read on HelloPeter

Facebook

5.0 / 5

18 recommendations

Facebook records recommendations rather than stars

Read on Facebook

4.8 out of 5 is the average of the four ratings above, across 394 public reviews. Weighted by review volume instead, so that Google's 152 reviews count for more than Facebook's 18, it comes to 4.76. Figures were taken from the four sites on 22 September 2026. HelloPeter scores on a rolling 12 months, so its rating covers a shorter period than its all-time review count. Think Digital Academy appears on three of these four sites and is not listed on Trustpilot; check its listings yourself rather than taking our word for it. Review sites are independently operated and scores change as families post. See every CambriLearn review.

Common questions

Choosing between the two

If your question is not here, ask us. We would rather answer it before you enrol than after.

Ask an education consultant
Is CambriLearn or Think Digital Academy better?

They are built differently, and which one fits depends on what your child needs. Think Digital teaches through pre-recorded lessons your child works through at their own pace, with weekday text-based tutor support on the higher tier. For a self-directed learner who is already on top of the work, that model is cheaper and it can be enough.

CambriLearn teaches live timetabled lessons with qualified subject teachers, marks assignments with written feedback inside eight working days, and has academic support consultants who follow up when progress slips. That costs more because it employs teachers to teach rather than to record.

On range, CambriLearn teaches six pathways across five curricula and Think Digital publishes three. CambriLearn runs the Cambridge pathway through to A Level, offers the IEB, Pearson Edexcel, a United States diploma and CAPS in Afrikaans, and holds Cognia accreditation and NCAA approval. Think Digital publishes none of those. CambriLearn began teaching in 2008 and Think Digital was founded in 2016.

What is the real difference between recorded lessons and live lessons?

A recorded lesson is the same for every child who watches it. It cannot notice that your child has misunderstood something, and it cannot change course. Think Digital describes its own model plainly: “All our lessons have been recorded and taught by subject matter experts… These lessons can be accessed from anywhere at any time.”

Its paid upgrade adds online tutors on weekdays between 08:00 and 16:30, with a 15-minute response time, working through text, images and video. Its own FAQ sets the boundary: the service “does not include face-to-face tutoring and is not a solution for students struggling with content comprehension or mastering concepts.”

CambriLearn runs 45-minute live video lessons with a qualified subject teacher on a weekly timetable, and the recording is there afterwards for revision. The live class is where a teacher can see the confusion and deal with it in the moment. See how CambriLearn works.

Does Think Digital Academy offer A Levels?

No, and it says so itself. A post on its own site notes that Think Digital Academy “currently offers IGCSE and AS Levels, but not A Levels”. The 2027 fee table has no A Level line and there is no A Level page in its sitemap.

This matters because AS is half of an A Level. Under the Cambridge structure, AS and A2 each count 50% toward the final A Level grade. A learner who completes AS at Think Digital and wants the full qualification has to move school to do it.

CambriLearn runs Cambridge A Levels in Biology, Business, Chemistry, Economics, English Language, Mathematics and Physics, and Pearson Edexcel International A Levels alongside them. See the British curriculum pathway.

Are both schools properly accredited?

Both are registered with SACAI for the CAPS pathway, so a CAPS matric carries the same standing either way. Neither is accredited by Umalusi, because Umalusi accredits examination bodies rather than schools.

Beyond that the two diverge. CambriLearn is accredited by Cognia and by Pearson Edexcel, is registered with the IEB, and is NCAA approved. It is also an approved Pearson Edexcel examination centre, authorised to enter and host candidates. Think Digital's accreditation page names two bodies: SACAI, and the GED Testing Service, where its published status is Test Preparation partner.

Think Digital claims no Cambridge International centre status, no Pearson Edexcel accreditation, no Cognia accreditation and no NCAA approval. Its British International curriculum sits on its accreditation page with no accrediting body stated against it. See CambriLearn's accreditation detail.

Which school is cheaper?

Think Digital, on the headline number. Its 2027 GCSE fee is R19,100 to R20,650 per level and its registration fee is R500. CambriLearn charges the British curriculum in US dollars, per subject per year, from $565 at International GCSE, with a $95 registration fee.

Two things make the gap smaller than it looks and one makes it real. Think Digital's fee table does not state how many subjects a level price covers, and it prices extra subjects at R3,800 to R4,200 each, so the quoted figure may not be the figure you pay. External examination fees sit outside tuition at both schools, and Think Digital lists those at roughly R3,000 to R4,500 per subject at GCSE and AS. The part of the gap that is real is what the money buys: a recorded library and weekday text tutoring on one side, live teaching by qualified subject teachers on the other.

Ask both schools for a total on the exact subject load your child will take, including registration, tuition and examination entry, and compare those two numbers rather than the headline ones. Get a CambriLearn quote.

Can my child do the IEB or an American diploma with Think Digital Academy?

Neither. Think Digital publishes no IEB pathway and claims no IEB registration. Its American offering is the GED, which is a high school equivalency credential rather than a K–12 diploma programme, and it holds Test Preparation partner status with the GED Testing Service rather than being a testing centre.

CambriLearn runs the IEB as a standalone pathway, with Grade 10 and Grade 11 enrolling for 2027 and Grade 12 opening in 2028 as the first cohort moves up. The United States route is a full K–12 diploma through Score Academy Online, with NCAA-approved courses for learners heading into US college sport. See the IEB pathway or the US K–12 pathway.

Who registers my child for the examinations?

At Think Digital, you do. Its British curriculum FAQ tells families to “locate your nearest British International Curriculum accredited examination centre” and to “register your student directly with them”, paying a fee per paper that moves with the exchange rate. It also notes that a student “has to complete the full 18-month course before writing these exams.”

CambriLearn is an approved Pearson Edexcel examination centre, so it can enter and host candidates. CAPS and IEB Grade 12 entries and fees are handled with SACAI and the IEB on the student's behalf. Cambridge examination fees are still paid to the examination centre at both schools. See CambriLearn's examination centres.

Think Digital's advertising describes it as an award-winning school. What has it won?

Its awards page lists four. Three are Virtual School of the Year from Corporate Livewire, for 2020/21, 2021/22 and 2022/23, all issued by that same body. The fourth is an Excellence Award in Online Schooling Services from MEA Business Awards in 2022. Its homepage separately claims Virtual School of the Year “for 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023 and 2024”. The awards page carries nothing after 2022/23, so the two do not reconcile.

Awards are worth what the body behind them is worth. If one matters to your decision, ask the school which organisation issued it, for which year, and on what basis it was judged. Ask us the same question and hold both answers to the same standard.

Can my child move from Think Digital Academy to CambriLearn partway through?

Usually yes, and the point in the year matters more than the school. A learner on CAPS is registered with SACAI either way, so the pathway carries across. A learner on the British curriculum moves into the matching CambriLearn level, and the usual complication is examination timing rather than curriculum content, since Cambridge sits examinations in the May/June and October/November sessions.

The move families most often ask about is the one out of AS, because Think Digital's British pathway ends there. CambriLearn takes learners into A Level to complete the qualification.

Send us the reports and the subject list and we will tell you what transfers, what has to be repeated and which examination session to aim for. Speak to an education consultant.

Before you decide

Bring the Think Digital quote with you

Bring their fee, their package tier and the subject list your child would take. We will price the same subject load, show you the timetable your child would sit in, and set out where each pathway ends.

CambriLearn is accredited by Cognia and by Pearson Edexcel, registered with SACAI and the IEB, and approved by the NCAA. Comparison last checked 22 September 2026.

All Think Digital Academy information on this page was taken from what Think Digital published on thinkdigitalacademy.org on 22 September 2026, and is reproduced so that families can compare like with like. It is not verified by CambriLearn and may change. Where a row reads “Not published”, it means the school does not state that credential or figure on its own site. Confirm current curricula, fees, accreditation and examination arrangements with Think Digital Academy before enrolling. Corrections are welcome and will be applied with a revised comparison date.

CambriLearn is not affiliated with, endorsed by or connected to Think Digital Academy. Think Digital Academy is a mark belonging to its owner and is used here only to identify the school being compared. Cambridge, Pearson Edexcel, Cognia, SACAI, the IEB, the NCAA and the GED Testing Service are marks belonging to their respective owners.